The Wife Before: A Spellbinding Psychological Thriller with a Shocking Twist (Paperback)

The Wife Before: A Spellbinding Psychological Thriller with a Shocking Twist Cover Image
$16.95
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


A new bride’s fairytale marriage soon becomes a prison of secrets in this insidiously sexy, twist-filled psycho-drama reminiscent of the classic gothic tale Rebecca – from Shanora Williams, the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of THE PERFECT RUIN. Perfect for fans of Liv Constantine, Tarryn Fisher, and Caroline Kepnes.

BookBub’s Best Mysteries & Thrillers of 2022

Samira Wilder has never had it easy, and when her latest lousy job goes south, things only promise to get harder. Until she unexpectedly meets a man who will change her life forever. Renowned pro golfer Roland Graham is wealthy, handsome, and caring, and Samira is dazzled. Best of all, he seems to understand her better than anyone ever has. And though their relationship moves a bit fast, when Roland proposes, Samira accepts. She even agrees to relocate to his secluded Colorado mansion. After all, there’s nothing to keep her in Miami, and the mansion clearly makes him happy. Soon, they are married amid a media firestorm, and Samira can't wait to make a fresh start—as the second Mrs. Graham . . .
 
Samira settles into the mansion, blissfully happy—until she discovers long-hidden journals belonging to Roland’s late wife, Melanie, who died in a tragic accident. With each dusty page, Samira comes to realize that perhaps it was no accident at all—that perhaps her perfect husband is not as perfect as she thought. Even as her trust in Roland begins to dwindle and a shadow falls over her marriage and she begins to fear for her own life, Samira is determined to uncover the truth of Melanie’s troubled last days. But even good wives should know that the truth is not always what it seems . . .
 
“A shocking, sensual thriller.” —Tarryn Fisher, New York Times bestselling author on The Perfect Ruin
 

About the Author


Shanora Williams is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of more than twenty-five suspense and romance novels, including her traditional publishing debut, The Perfect Ruin, a selection of the Target Diverse Book Club. She began self-publishing in 2012 and first landed on the New York Times bestseller list when she was only nineteen years old. She lives with her husband and three sons near Charlotte, NC and can be found online at ShanoraWilliams.com.

Praise For…


Praise for The Wife Before 

“Williams does give both Melanie and Samira multiple dimensions; they're flawed but also strong and determined, and the twist at the end is a surprise.”
Kirkus Reviews

Advance Praise for The Wife Before from Booksellers & Librarians:

 
“Shanora Williams has a keen eye for the tension that can build in a relationship... that paired with strong characters and a carefully built plot make this a read that absolutely begs to be finished in one sitting (which I did!). And that ending—let's just say it comes to a very satisfying conclusion! Plus, I'm a sucker for anything that plays on REBECCA and I got wild REBECCA vibes here!”
—Becky LeJeune, Bookbar Denver (Denver, CO)
 
“This heart-pounding twisty thriller is an unexpected story of suspicion and redemption.”
—Cari Dubiel, Twinsburg Public Library (Twinsburg, OH)
 
"An exceptional novel that you don't want to miss.”
—Laura Fowler, J.V. Fletcher Library (Westford, MA)
 
“Shanora Williams weaves an intricate tale of domestic suspense. Readers will be gripped right from the very first sentence. This a must-read for thriller fans.”
—Nicole McManus, My Sister's Books (Pawleys Island, SC)
 
Praise for The Perfect Ruin
 
“This twisty thriller takes readers into a high-class, sinfully privileged world populated with characters who will stop at nothing for what they want. Williams stretches out the tension as readers wonder what Lola did to hurt Ivy and whether their shared past will be revealed. With diabolical turns and surprises at every corner, it’s an ideal summer read.”
Booklist STARRED REVIEW
 
“A delicious and decadent cocktail of jealousy, passion, and revenge. I was hooked from the very first twist. You’ll love this addictive psychological thriller.” 
—Alessandra Torre, New York Times bestselling author of Every Last Secret
 
"Twisty and impossible to put down! With a cast of diverse characters, Williams brings to life a twisty thriller that'll leave you reeling long after you've read the last page. 10/10 recommend." 
—Claire Contreras, New York Times bestselling author
 
"You're going to pick a side, make no mistake. And then you won't put it down until you know the truth. A shocking, sensual thriller with sharp twists." 
—Tarryn Fisher, New York Times bestselling author of The Wives
 
“Williams is an award-winning author of romance and suspense novels; her tale of revenge will find an easy spot in fiction collections. Tailored for book clubs and for those who like to read about the sleazy side of rich elites.”
Library Journal
 
“In The Perfect Ruin, author Shanora Williams serves up an ice-cold revenge thriller set in the glamorous and steamy hot city of Miami.”
—Book Riot
 
“The glamour of Miami has a dark side in this twisting story where nothing is what it seems.”
—WRAL-TV (NBC) North Carolina
 
“This is a great story of revenge and the lengths someone will go to get it, and how there are many layers to people’s lives. It’s a great mix of female friendship and thriller.”
Parkersburg News and Sentinel/Marietta Times
 
“This fast-paced and incredibly entertaining book is perfect for devouring by the poolside. Everyone in this book is terrible, but I mean that in the best way possible. Williams is so incredible at writing her characters that despite the horrible things they do, you still want to root for them.” —Off the Shelf


Product Details
ISBN: 9781496731111
ISBN-10: 1496731115
Publisher: Dafina
Publication Date: June 28th, 2022
Pages: 320
Language: English